Skip to content
June 11, 2010 / Mike Biggs

What to do with your good ideas

I currently have a few good ones floating around in my mind. And being a pragmatic person, or at least I try to be, I tend to write them down in a notebook of no particular interest. The storage of ideas seems to be secondary to the idea itself, and could be a collection of used envelopes stapled together, providing you don’t lose them.

But.

The storage medium commands a certain level of respect unto itself, and will by association rub off onto the ideas held within. So it is possible that I will hold my excellent ideas in far lower esteem than they deserve as a result of keeping them on scrappy note paper.

There are a few ways to show respect and invest value into the ideas you create:

  • Write your ideas in an expensive, high quality, durable and ornate notebook. – This shows the ideas respect.
  • Keep your ideas under lock and key, for example in a safe. – This proves the value of the ideas.
  • Put approximate dollar values on the ideas. – Again proves the value.
  • Don’t share all of them. – Exclusivity.

Do you have any suggestions? I’d love to hear what else I can do to keep my ideas safe from erosion.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Frank Connolly / Jun 11 2010 1:43 pm

    Don’t know that I can add to much value to the above, but I know from experience that you can walk around any public sector office in any jurisdiction you care to name and you’ll find numerous desks with rolls of dusty butcher paper stashed beneath. These rolls are covered in ideas on post-it-notes that have been elicited from staff.

    Many are OK at getting the ideas captured, but very poor at valuing and acting on them.

  2. Baron Mike Biggs / Jun 16 2010 1:50 am

    Thanks Frank. Good comment. I guess all ideas come down to implementation, so the two go hand in hand.

    Ideas + Execution = Success

  3. Fran Trieu / Jul 8 2010 8:31 pm

    This inspired me to buy a pretty notebook from Typo.

    Lots going on at the moment..looking forward to the Success part.

    • Baron Mike Biggs / Aug 3 2010 9:01 pm

      way to go fran.

      Typo is a nice store, I think I might be their target customer…

  4. oscaradr100 / Sep 4 2010 1:04 pm

    No matter how good is the idea if it cannot be implimented is nothing. Idea + action= success

Trackbacks

  1. How do you identify when you are having a fleeting idea and halt what you are doing in order to capture it « Think LAB

Leave a Reply

