Skip to content
June 20, 2010 / Mike Biggs

The Anti-Logic of Political Thinking

I never thought I would find myself erring on the side of a politicians course of action when dealing with one of my insignificant day to day challenges. But here I am, faced with doing nothing and allowing waste and mismanagement to continue ‘just in case’ bringing it to light causes me to lose something even if insignificant.

My issue is this:

I receive junk mail to my letterbox a few times per week, however Thursdays delivery is almost always a double up from the Tuesday. I can safely assume that it is not the same person delivering to my house twice, and is a result of my street being a territory border between delivery people.

The solution should be simple,  leave a note to advise the delivery people of the double up and ask them to only deliver one set of junk mail. I still want the junk mail you see. However, my better judgement has stopped me from doing what seems to be so simple, and the right thing to do. I am concerned that both operatives may stop delivering, which leaves me without the lovely brochures to read.

I want them, so I am frozen to action in order to preserve (with much waste) the little that I want.

My rational self says that I should just leave a note and it will be fine, but I do not have confidence that it will result in a satisfactory situation so I do nothing.

It’s a bit like keeping quiet and letting things go simply because they are to hard to deal with, or because those who would be involved wont be able to separate the issue from the context. So common in politics is to do nothing to solve a problem because the general populous are considered to thick to grasp the issues and separate the hot contexts.

Working with thinking tools I easily traverse concepts and concepts without considering either of them to be exclusively connected. Great thinkers out there probably do this with much greater ease that I do, but what is the process of the average person? Is the media to blame for sensationalizing issues of great significance? For blending and confusing the red hot issues with debate that addresses a process designed to find solutions?

I suppose my solution is simple, just put a note out on the day that I would like to delete from my deliveries. Hopefully this works and does not cause a universal stoppage.

As for public debate on hot topics, the solution is also quite simple. If all people knew about the Six Thinking Hats, we would be right, just preface any statement with the appropriate hat and there you have it. All emotive blurring of the issues is removed.

I guess I have identified part of my quest, to educate the world on the thinking tools that work well for me. And just a note in closing, I think that the media probably need to learn soonest, followed by the politicians.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anthony / Aug 26 2010 2:17 pm

    Complacency often gets the better of us, whether it is regarding not pursuing our dreams for fear of failure or ostracism or because we are physically unaware of our capabilities.

    Confidence is difficult to gain and far too easy to lose.

    As you said, context is an all important part of thinking and cognition, I think the key to overcoming problems like these is simply to throw the whole system on its head and input activity that isn’t usually expected. The system usually throws a value back at you that gives itself a whole new meaning or way of approaching the preconceived ideas you already had and assumed to be correct.

    Even something as simple as starting a conversation with the person that posts them would be changing the context, as there is almost universal contempt for these people on a scale somewhere between people who take up too much room on the train and parking inspectors. Its like meeting the new kid at school all over again.

    • Baron Mike Biggs / Aug 26 2010 2:19 pm

      Nice feedback, you have hit the nail on the head with the system challenging ideas you suggest.

      Context is interchangeable with perspective and shines further light on the way to approach these issues.

      thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

